Documents you have created can be viewed, managed, shared, organised and searched in your Workspace. When viewing Workspace documents files and folders, there are some basic elements used to show the status of the resource in question and to how to access it (where applicable).
Icons are used in the Type column to show at a glance what you are looking at. Folders have a distinctive yellow folder icon, notebooks are a green book with a black spine, generic documents have a page symbol, and documents based on specified forms have an identifying icon which is created and attached to the form and then used for any documents based on that form – see the example Experiment form, which has its own green page icon. When gallery documents such as images or PDFs are returned in search results, an identifying icon is used if it is a known file type, or an ‘Unknown’ icon is used.
Entries in the neighbouring Name column are preceded by a symbol indicating the document’s status from a set of available values. A new document of any type is indicated by a pale blue grey circle with a short white bar in in it (and ‘Not Shared’ when moused over), and folders and Gallery files will be marked ‘Not Shareable’ and indicated by an empty pale grey disc.
The document name itself is an active link to open the document. For Notebooks, clicking on the name link opens the list of entries for that notebook, while clicking the notebook icon in the Type list directly opens the notebook in view mode.
You can managing documents using a secondary toolbar of available actions which appears under the main workspace toolbar when one or more checkboxes is selected in the first ‘Options’ column of the workspace table. The actions available are dependent on the type of file or folder selected, upon permissions and share status and what is appropriate in a multiple selection. The main options available for documents are:
- Deleting documents does not actually delete documents from the database; it merely marks them as deleted so that they may be subsequently restored if the need arises. Links to documents that are subsequently deleted will indicate, when clicked, that the link is broken. If you are the owner of a document, deletion will remove it from the view of all users with whom the document is shared, as well as from your own folder view.
- If you delete a document that has been shared with you, it will only be deleted from your view; the original owner and any other users with whom the document is shared will still be able to see it.
- To restore a deleted document, click on the ‘My RSpace’ tab then the ‘View deleted documents’ link. You can then choose to view or restore the deleted document; note that editing a deleted document is not possible until it has been restored.
- Deleted folders do not have a ‘View’ link; restoring will restore the Folder and all its documents, notebooks and subfolders.
- Copying documents produces a ‘deep’ copy of the document. A completely new, independent document is made. Comments, sketches, and image annotations are also copied.
- If a shared document is copied, the owner of the copied document is the user who performed the copy.
- Renaming a document causes the document to be renamed for all users who can view that document.
- A user can move document around the folder system.
- Each user has their own folder tree and can organise documents in their own way, except for shared documents.
- RSpace Community users can share within groups (often a convenient workflow), but can also share with any individual user within RSpace using an e-mail (autocomplete or known email address) invitation message which must be accepted before sharing. They can also create a share invite to any individual outwith RSpace, producing a ‘pending’ share which will be completed when the invited party signs up to RSpace and accepts the share invitation.
- Sharing a document with any RSpace group member or any user accepting a share request will result in the shared document appearing in their ‘Shared’ folder.
See the section on ‘LabGroups and Group Sharing’ for more details on sharing with groups or with users you are in a group with.
You can export work in a variety of formats – see Export Options for more details.